Navratri 2017: Significance, history, legend, calendar and all you need to know

Navratri 2017 actually means ‘9 nights’ in Sanskrit, also called Durga puja symbolizes the victory of positivity over negativity. Throughout this nine-day pageant, 9 totally different manifestations of the Goddess is worshipped. The 9 goddess are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. Every goddess has her governing planet, mantra, mount, and iconography. There are 4 Navratri 2017 in a yr – Chaitra Navratri, Sharad Navratri, Magha Gupta Navratri and Ashadha Gupta Navratri. Out of which Sharad and Chaitra Navratri 2017 is well known extensively. Sharad Navratri is well known within the month of Ashwin throughout Sharad Ritu and can be known as-as Maha Navratri. In 2017, the nine-day pageant begins on September 21 and culminates on September 29. Dasara or Vijaya Dashmi shall be celebrated on September 30.
navratri 2017

There's a custom adopted particularly in Maharashtra and Gujarat, the place ladies adorn themselves with 9 totally different colors allotted to every day of Navratri. Every day is dominated by one planet i.e. Navgraha and accordingly, the colors are assigned.

In keeping with the legend in North India, Mahishasura, the mighty demon, worshipped Lord Shiva and obtained the ability of eternity. As per the boon, he turned immortal and shortly he began killing harmless folks on the Earth and determined to win all of the three lokas. The gods approached Lord Shiva and requested him the for assist. To do away with the demon, the Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva united their powers and gave beginning to a divine feminine warrior, generally known as Goddess Durga.
When Mahishasura noticed Goddess Durga he was mesmerised by her magnificence. He approached her with the intention of marriage. Durga agreed however with a situation that ‘He has to win over her in a battle’. The battle continued for 9 nights and ultimately, she beheaded Mahishasura. Since then these nine-nights are celebrated


Date: September 21 (Thursday)
Day: Pratipada Puja: Ghatasthapana, Chandra Darshan, Shailputri
Puja Colour: Yellow

Date: September 22 (Friday)
Day: Dwitiya Puja: Brahmacharini
Puja Colour: Green

Date: September 23 (Saturday)
Day: Tritiya Puja: Chandraghanta
Puja Colour: Gray

Date: September 24 (Sunday)
Day: Chaturthi Puja: Kushmanda
Puja Colour: Orange

Date: September 25 (Monday)
Day: Panchami Puja: Skanda Mata
Puja Colour: White

Date: September 26 (Tuesday)
Day: Shashthi Puja: Katyayani
Puja Colour: Red

Date: September 27 (Wednesday)
Day: Saptami Puja: Kalaratri
Puja Colour: Royal Blue

Date: September 28 (Thursday)
Day: Ashtami Puja: Mahagauri Puja, Durga Ashtami, Saraswati
Puja Colour: Pink

Date: September 29 (Friday)
Day: Navami Puja: Maha Navami
Colour: Purple